October is National Book Month

For me, one of the great pleasure in life is to get lost in a book and my favorite genre is travel.  I can walk the streets of Istanbul with Orhan Pamuk one day and the next I can ride the railways of the world with Paul Theroux.  Maybe traipsing through Chile with Sara Wheeler or taking a walk in the woods with Bill Bryson. Studies have shown that reading daily helps with mental awareness, reduces stress and possibly can slow the progress of Alzheimer’s. Aside from those benefits, it’s fun and you get all smart and stuff. 🙂

In honor of National Book Month, I’m going to share a few of my favorite books. Anyone who knows me knows that I am an avid reader. No matter where I go, chances are, I’ll have a book with me. I may not be able to talk about what housewife did what to whom or the newest update on the Kardashian clan, but ask me about my favorite book or author and I could talk for hours.

The first book I want to share is  Tales of a Female Nomad: Living At Large in the World by Rita Golden Gelman. Before the ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ craze, there was this book, which was published in 2001.  I read it cover to cover on a two layover flight to New York City and was not even annoyed with flight delays. Now that is the sign of a good book!! Rita brought me along on her journey as she faced some major changes in her life at 47. She rediscovered her buried desires to travel authentically, get out of the five-star hotel circuit and live amongst the people in a Mexican village. This was the first time I read about someone who sold all of her possessions and embraced the nomadic lifestyle in their late forties. She had never eaten alone or had her own credit card. She wrote about her travels through Mexico, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Israel, the Galapagos Islands, Indonesia, Canada, New Zealand and Thailand and gives vibrant, colorful details about her travels. I don’t want to give too much away but below are a few of my favorite quotes from the book:

“I did not ask for permission to live this new life, not from my kids, not from from my parents, and not from my friends, many of whom are convinced that I’m avoiding the real world.”

“What I’m feeling is a deep psychological fear with lots of roots in adolescence: fear of being seen alone. Alone means unpopular. Alone means that you are an outsider. ”

She also has published a book titled Female Nomad and Friends: Tales of Breaking Free and Breaking Bread Around the World, which has recipes and stories from female nomads all over the world.

Happy reading!!

 

 

This entry was posted in Travel, Travel books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

